• Bachelor
  • 20 May 2022

The Lee Kuan Yew Scholarship to Encourage Upgrading (LKY-STEP) Award was established from donations received from Mr Lee Kuan Yew through the sale proceeds of autographed editions of Volume 2 of his Memoirs. The objective of the award is to encourage lifelong learning and will be offered to outstanding polytechnic graduates pursuing full-time undergraduate degree programmes at Nanyang Technological University (NTU), National University of Singapore (NUS), Singapore Management University (SMU), Singapore University of Technology & Design(SUTD), Singapore Institute of Technology (SIT) or Singapore University of Social Sciences (SUSS).

Nanyang Technological University
This is a scholarship by

Nanyang Technological University

The Nanyang Technological University, Singapore is a national research university based in Singapore.

All Scholarships from Nanyang Technological University


• Open to Singapore Citizens or Singapore Permanent Residents. • Successful awardees should read a full-time undergraduate degree programme leading to a first degree* at NTU, NUS, SMU, SUTD, SIT or SUSS. • Possess outstanding Diploma awarded by a polytechnic in Singapore (preferably Diploma with Merit) or SIT (Poly-FSI) qualifications. • Excellent co-curricular records. • Strong leadership qualities and potential.

Duolingo English Test

Certify your English proficiency with the Duolingo English Test! The DET is a convenient, fast, and affordable online English test accepted by over 4,000 universities around the world.

Take A Free Practice Test!


LKY-STEP Award covers up to the normal programme duration on the condition that the holder maintain a record of good academic performance and exemplary conduct. o One-off cash award of S$3,500. o Subsidised Tuition fees will be waived by the universities if LKY-STEP Award holders are unsuccessful in securing a concurrent scholarship. o No bond attached, apart from the three-year bond applicable to all Singapore PRs under the MOE Tuition Grant Scheme.


Application opens on 30 April to 20 May. Singapore University of Technology and Design (SUTD) is the Secretariat for LKY-STEP Award.

Apply Now

Sign Up for Scholarship Updates

Get an email every week that 10.000's of students use to get the latest scholarships.