Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships

    The Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan is one of the largest and most prestigious scholarships schemes for international study in the world. Since it was established in 1959, around 29,000 individuals have benefited– 17,000 of them have held awards funded by the United Kingdom, managed by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the United Kingdom (CSC).


    To be eligible for a Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship, candidates should:

    • be Commonwealth citizens of a developing Commonwealth country, refugees or British protected persons AND be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country (see list below)

    • normally hold a first degree of upper second-class standard, or higher qualification. In certain cases, we will consider a lower qualification and sufficient relevant experience

    Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships may not be held concurrently for more than one course

    Additional requirements

    The CSC may require candidates to undertake the academic IELTS English language test as a condition of eligibility. Candidates should check with the UK institution/provider whether this requirement applies to them. If selected, candidates will be required to show the CSC a certificate confirming a total overall score of at least 6.5 on the IELTS scale. The CSC will only accept a certificate from a test taken up to one year prior to the start date of the course.


    Do you wish to become an international student next year?
    Demonstrate your English skills with IELTS.

    Start preparing for IELTS today

    Sign Up for Scholarship Updates

    Get an email every week that 10.000's of students use to get the latest scholarships.